top of page

Before you master

Before you master

I’m the cursed woman, from far away in the core of poverty

I heard that when you speak, the thunder roars in agreement

I want a word from you, so that my curses can be turned into blessings

I haul myself into your presence, I belong to a ruined nation.

It is written that when you step up for thy people,

The clouds step down to bow before your unrivaled glory

I am burdened with requests, master give me rest from the heavy load.

I’m the troubled soul from deep within the heart of Sheol

It is said that you can draw stars from the skies with your hands

I present myself before your undefiled name

For I seek to be retrieved from the fury of hell.

I’m the dead body resting in the embrace of the ghostly graveyard

What I need is the holy ghost not the ones which sucked truth out of my mouth

I heard that your breaths give everlasting life to dry bones

I cast myself right under your mighty nostrils

Exhale your grace and let me be filled with new flesh.

I’m the simple girl from a village afar in a forgotten region

I know that you fish out outcasts and place them in your kingdom

I cry before your holy emblem and heavenly dazzling robe

I want to be renewed and adopted into your will

And be clean before you master.

Written by

....

Khulekani Ndlovu

...

image source here

bottom of page