top of page

Ignorant world

Ignorant world

The contempt saturating your longing eyes,

Has dropped into the depressions of my outstretched hands.

African child! I have heard your call.

The heart of the world has been seasoned with despisement.

It has no time to taste the delicacy of your raw talent.

It sleeps in the drought of hunger, waiting for a meal only from adults.

If only it knew the flavors you bear my African child,

The crispiness of your fresh unblemished talent

Would it not dance in the pleasures of your youthful endeavors?

So, hear me and sip the honey dripping from my lips you world.

Oh, ignorant world: deafened by your blindness, blinded by your deafness

Use your starving minds and put your rusting senses to use.

You have treasure! Plenty of treasure before your insightful future.

The African child is your treasure, your hope in the darkest night.

written by

....

Khulekani Ndlovu

,,,

image source here

bottom of page